Philosophy, Physics, and People

Taoism


One Asian philosophical tradition, Taosim, emphasizes that humans should strive to connect with reality. Too many people battle reality, which is why they experience frustration and disappointment. By releasing yourself from your agenda and expectations, it is possible to attain a connection with nature and the cosmos.

Upon listening to a podcast audio interview with Neil deGrasse Tyson I heard something that took me back to the my morning lectures of Asian Philosophy.

Tyson made an inquisitive comment concerning mathematics and the traditional disconnect people tend to have with it. Mathematics and physics is the language of the universe, Tyson explained. Yet, these two subjects seem to be the most intimidating and loathed topics people encounter in their academic studies. Why is the universal language of mathematics, the language that links us to nature and the cosmos, the language that humans have such a difficult time understanding and accepting?

Imagine if our ancient ancestors had not developed agriculture thousands of years ago and humans were still roaming Earth as hunters and gatherers. Technology would never have developed and our knowledge of the physical forces that drive our solar system, galaxy, and universe would still remain unknown.

How ironic that the language which has brought us a deep understanding of nature has also managed to separate us from it. Watching National Geographic on our televisions is the closest to nature that some of us will ever achieve.

3 thoughts on “Philosophy, Physics, and People

  1. I love this. I am constantly trying to maintain a lifestyle where I am fully capable of pulling my mind from the stressors of “life.” I actually want to grow up to be a hunter-gatherer, but its silly to think the whole world should have or could have stayed in that rather uncivilized phase of humanity.

    I also am deeply interested in math and science, it was even my forte for a long time. I was always a high math scorer. It’s just as a career, it didn’t line up with my wants.

    I would love to chat about what you do in your field. How very interesting.

  2. Also, I REALLY want you to help me understand the “singularity” concept. Robots, people, etc. It’s a scary concept to me, but also equally amazing and stunning. Maybe we can chat before class today.

    • Hey Katie,

      I’m not sure if I’ll be able to get to class early, but I’m definitely up for chatting after class or some other time. I find connecting philosophy and science pretty interesting. Have you ever read the book Ishmael by Daniel Quinn? If not I would highly recommend it to you. I think you’d love it.

      -Jessica

Leave a Reply

